He Didn’t Marry Me For My Cooking: Recipe Share #4

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m pretty inept in the kitchen.

cook

Seriously, I once made a 4-layer birthday cake where I failed to remove the wax paper from in between each layer before baking it. It looked beautiful but I just couldn’t quite figure out why it was so terribly hard to cut!

That mystery got solved the moment my brother in-law started pulling wax paper from his mouth.  Oops!

So I have spent the past year looking for recipes that are not only fairly healthy, but ones that had the lowest risk of epic failure on my part.  I hate meal planning, so I’ve managed to find about 12-15 that we really like and we just keep a rotating menu of those same recipes.  This certainly helps with planning and definitely saves us time.

One of our newest additions is a White Chicken Enchilada Bake.  We have made this two or three times now and have yet to grow tired of it.  It’s pretty “low” in most categories and it’s extremely filling.  

IMG_7184As usual, we modify it for our personal preferences.  It calls for layers of tortillas between the inner mixture, however, we have found it easier to leave out the tortillas.  We put the mixture in a casserole dish and bake it.  The Beard chooses to dish his up and then tear up tortillas to mix in it.  I, on the other hand, leave them out entirely.  Totally up to you.  Added bonus?

It makes for yummy leftovers!

This is coming from someone who rarely eats anything after it was originally served.  

The icing on the cake…mmmm, I could go for some cake right now…is that The Princess and The Lordling like it too.  Anytime I can find a concoction that they will willingly eat along with us, is usually a winner in my book.  The less meals I have to attempt to create, the better.  For everyone.  Trust me.

ENJOY!

~Ashley~

Tip:  In order to view the recipe, you will have to register for its hosting site. It will ask you for a $5.00 donation to support the site but even if you can only donate $0.00, it will allow you to register.

Leave a comment