He Didn’t Marry Me For My Cooking: Recipe Share #5

As I have definitely established at this point, I am not a great cook. Anything too complex and as The Beard likes to say “that pretty little brain of yours gets overwhelmed.” In fact, it is so true that when I discovered this book on Amazon today, I got a little excited.blondes

It is seriously a real book and I swear it must have been written for me. She actually rates the difficulty level of the recipes using the following labels: Platinum Blonde, Natural Highlights and Golden Blonde! 

Ok, so maybe I’m not THAT challenged in the kitchen (most days), but my point here is that when I look for ways of eating healthier, I HAVE to have simple recipes. In addition, it has to be normal. There’s nothing that annoys me more than weight loss programs that give you recipes for fancy schmancy eating. 

I’m like look, I’m just an average citizen here and if I even knew what this high class titled meal WAS, then that would mean that I’m probably wealthy and in that case I wouldn’t need the recipe because I could hire someone to cook it for me!

Seriously. Keep. It. Simple.

Therefore, I have so far been pleased with the simpleness of the 21 Day Fix Extreme eating plan. I have lists of foods to choose from (protein, fruit, vegetables, etc.) and a series of recipes that are normal. In addition, I can easily find other dishes that can be used and/or modified to fit this plan as well!

Tonight I will be sharing one of our lunch dishes with you:

Turkey Lettuce Wraps.

10515313_664393023686992_3628239295782799869_o

Note: I’m a complete imbecile when it comes to eating lettuce wraps, so I prefer to do it bowl style.

There are four awesome things about this dish:

1. The recipe is so simple. Truth. I haven’t it screwed it up yet!

2. It literally takes me about 20 minutes to make from start to finish.

3. I normally don’t like ground turkey but with this particular combo of spices, it doesn’t taste like ground turkey to me but instead like taco meat.

4. We like it so much, we eat it for multiple meals. Seriously, we have eaten this for lunch 10 out of the last 14 days and will be eating it for 5 more days this week! People this is a breakthrough because this beauty RARELY eats leftovers AND easily TIRES of the same meals.

yoda

So without further adieu, here is how you construct the 21 Day Fix Extreme’s Turkey Lettuce Wraps!

Screen Shot 2015-04-06 at 7.52.40 PM

1. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add turkey; cook, stirring frequently for 5 minutes, or until no long pink.

IMG_1013

2. Add garlic powder, cumin, salt, chili powder, paprika, and oregano; mix well. Add onion and bell pepper; cook, stirring frequently, for 4 to 5 minutes, or until onion is translucent.

IMG_0504

3. Add water and tomato sauce. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low, cook, covered, for 10 to 12 minutes.

IMG_1011 

4. Dish it up in your lettuce wrap or place in a bowl with lettuce pieces. 

Serving Size: 6               1 serving = approximately 3/4-1 cup.

I really hope you give this recipe a try and enjoy it as much as we do!

Happy Healthy Eating!

~ Ashley ~

One thought on “He Didn’t Marry Me For My Cooking: Recipe Share #5

Leave a comment